loader image

MaxAB, the supply chain and logistics platform that connects traders in Africa

Share on facebook
Facebook
Share on twitter
Twitter
Share on linkedin
LinkedIn

Using data-driven technologies and blockchainThe aim of this project is to develop a state of the art supply system in order to meet the needs of the market.e link retailers to suppliers food and grocery productsThis is the mission of MaxAB. Led by two Egyptians, Belal EL-Megharbel and Mohamed Ben Halim, MaxAB is revolutionising the world of agri-food in Egypt and on the continent.

 

MaxAB, the e-tailer who isThe European Union is adapting to Africa

 

Getting goods to the most remote parts of Africa is usually a challenge.u an obstacle course. While traders are managing to get their products to their retail counterparts, other companies with logistical ambitions often struggle to serve the most remote areas efficiently. MaxAB enters the dance by covering both an e-commerce hat and logistician to solve this problem in Egypt and elsewhere.

 

 

What exactly is Max AB?

 

It is abouta platform e-business business-to-business which connects small retailers directly to product companies grocery shop, in manager all the logistics and supply chain processes involved. It thus facilitates interaction between suppliers and retailers, in particular in underserved areas, using data-driven technologies and advanced supply chains.

 

Retailers can so access from MaxAB to a wider variety of products, branded promotions and credit facilities.

 

How MaxAB arrive- to provide a unique offer ?

 

Optimize to have the right number of productssat the right time, in the right place "This is the motto that allows MaxAB from consolidate thehe supply chain, and d'offer, in the first instance, the best prices to retailers, and then to offer a delivery within 24 hours, as long as dealers thatto the shops ofhe areas underserved. The start-up intends to provide an answer to major issues on the continent, la logistics and lAccessibility froms foodstuffs.

 

MaxAB does not stop there. Po win the trust of its customersIt relies on on transparency in all its transactions by making visible thehe prices, too for both suppliers and retailers. The platform offers in addition different payment methodst and a digital wallet.Solutions designed and implemented in place to facilitate transactions.

 

MaxAB owes its effectiveness to the technology it has developed.u exploit to enable merchants to to buy and sell, deliver their goods and access support efficiently.

 

 

 

The strongman duo behind MaxAB

 

This are two Egyptians who co-founded, in 2018, the digital marketplace that abolishes distancesMohamed Ben Halima graduate of Business School Lausanne (BSL) and Belal EL-Megharbel. The The vision of these two men could not be clearer: to breathe new life into the food trade. The two of them set out and put all their energy into this mission.

 

Belal EL-MegharbelThe former worker at the Middle East carpooling pioneerCareem is on familiar entrepreneurial ground. He worked in the family business before starting his career with the transport company. This pathway allowed him to observe and realise the vital need forThis is the only way to ensure that retailers of consumer goods can continue to sell their products, to find state-of-the-art solutions to their logistical problems. It partners with then à Mohamed Ben Halim to provide a solution via technology.

 

Together they founded MaxAB, which continues to attract tech investors. The two entrepreneurs s aim to revolutionise thethe agri-food sector, in particular by facilitating exchanges despite logistical challengesand thus contribute to the effort to achieve thees ODD.

 

A start-up with resounding growth and enormous potential

 

MaxAB has made a resounding entry into the world of start-ups. Indeed, in 2019, the company raised $6.2 million in funding : what to do to succeed to poshe foundations of its rise.

 

In three years, she has managed to convince 55,000 traders, manages a fleet of vehicles that carries 130 brands and 2 000 products. It serves about 13 active merchants per month, exploits about tenwarehouses in Greater Cairo, is expanding across Egypt and aims to conquer the rest of the continent. Marquant already entered the Maghreb markets, particularly Algeria, Libya, Maus, Morocco and Tunisia, andlle is positioned as the most funded company and the largest B2B e-commerce platform for retailers and suppliers.

 

After its fundraising campaign in 2019, in July 2021, the start-up raises again 40 million and does not stop there. EIt has acquired, for an amount not known to the public, the B2B e-commerce and distribution platform WaystoCapbased in Morocco. LThe announcement of this acquisition was made after theollowing the lifting 15 million 25 August 2021 atclose to investors RMBV, IFC, Flourish Ventures, Crystal Stream Capital, Rise Capital, Endeavour Catalyst, Beco Capital and 4DX Ventures - bringing its total Series A funding campaign to $55 million.

image du chargeur

MaxAB, la plateforme de chaîne d’approvisionnement et de logistique qui connecte les commerçants en Afrique

Partager sur facebook
Facebook
Partager sur twitter
Twitter
Partager sur linkedin
LinkedIn

Utiliser des technologies basées sur des données et des chaînes d’approvisionnement de pointe afin de relier les détaillants aux fournisseurs de produits alimentaires et d’épicerie, telle est la mission de MaxAB. Portée par deux Égyptiens, Belal EL-Megharbel et Mohamed Ben Halim, MaxAB révolutionne le monde de l’agro-alimentaire en Egypte et sur le continent.

 

MaxAB, l’e-commerçant qui s’adapte à l’Afrique

 

Acheminer des marchandises vers les endroits les plus reculés de l’Afrique relève généralement du parcours du combattant. Pendant que les commerçants se débrouillent pour faire parvenir leurs produits à leurs homologues détaillants, d’autres entreprises aux ambitions logistiques peinent bien souvent à desservir les régions les plus enclavées de manière efficiente. MaxAB entre dans la danse en revêtant à la fois une casquette d’e-commerce et de logisticien pour résoudre ce problème en Égypte et ailleurs.

 

 

Max AB, c’est quoi au juste ?

 

Il s’agit d’une plateforme de commerce en ligne inter-entreprises qui permet de relier directement les petits détaillants aux entreprises de produits d’épicerie, en gérant l’ensemble des processus logistiques et de la chaîne d’approvisionnement impliqués. Elle facilite ainsi l’interaction entre les fournisseurs et les détaillants, en particulier dans les zones mal desservies, en utilisant des technologies basées sur les données et des chaînes d’approvisionnement de pointe.

 

Les détaillants peuvent ainsi accéder à partir de MaxAB à une plus grande variété de produits, à des promotions de marque et à des facilités de crédit.

 

Comment MaxAB arrive-t-elle à proposer une offre unique ?

 

« Optimiser pour avoir le bon nombre de produits, au bon moment, au bon endroit », c’est le mot d’ordre qui permet à MaxAB de consolider la chaîne d’approvisionnement, et d’offrir, dans un premier temps, les meilleurs prix aux détaillants, puis de proposer une livraison sous 24 heures, tant aux revendeurs qu’aux magasins des zones mal desservies. La start-up entend ainsi apporter une réponse à des problématiques de taille sur le continent, la logistique et l’accessibilité des denrées alimentaires.

 

MaxAB ne s’arrête pas là. Pour gagner la confiance de ses clients, elle mise sur la transparence dans toutes ses transactions en rendant visibles les prix, aussi bien pour les fournisseurs que les détaillants. La plateforme propose en outre différentes méthodes de paiement et un porte-monnaie numérique, des solutions pensées et mises en place pour faciliter les transactions.

 

Son efficacité, MaxAB la doit à la technologie qu’elle a su exploiter pour permettre aux marchands d’acheter et vendre, de livrer leurs marchandises et d’avoir accès à un support de façon efficiente.

 

 

 

Le duo d’hommes forts derrière MaxAB

 

Ce sont deux Egyptiens qui ont cofondé, en 2018, le marché numérique qui abolit les distancesMohamed Ben Halim, diplômé de Business School Lausanne (BSL) et Belal EL-Megharbel. La vision de ces deux hommes est on ne peut plus claire : donner un nouveau souffle aux commerçants dans le domaine de l’alimentation. Ils s’y mettent à deux et déploient toute leur énergie pour mener à bien cette mission.

 

Belal EL-Megharbel, ancien travailleur chez le pionnier du covoiturage au Moyen-Orient, Careem, roule en terrain connu dans l’entrepreneuriat. Il a en effet cheminé dans l’entreprise familiale, avant d’entamer sa carrière chez le transporteur. Ce cheminement lui a permis d’observer et de se rendre compte du besoin vital qu’ont les commerçants des produits de grande consommation, de trouver des solutions de pointe à leurs problèmes logistiques. Il s’associe alors à Mohamed Ben Halim pour y apporter une solution via la technologie.

 

Ensemble, ils ont fondé MaxAB qui ne cesse de séduire les investisseurs de la tech. Les deux entrepreneurs ont pour but de révolutionner le secteur de l’agroalimentaire, en facilitant notamment les échanges malgré les défis logistiques, et ainsi participer à l’effort visant à atteindre les ODD.

 

Une start-up au développement retentissant et au potentiel énorme

 

MaxAB a fait une entrée en matière retentissante dans le monde des start-up. En effet, en 2019, l’entreprise a levé un financement de 6,2 millions de dollars : de quoi réussir à poses bases de son ascension.

 

En trois ans, elle a réussi à convaincre 55000 commerçants, gère un parc de véhicules qui transporte 130 marques et 2 000 produits. Elle sert environ 13 marchands actifs par mois, exploite une dizaine d’entrepôts dans le Grand Caire, s’étend à travers l’Égypte et ambitionne de conquérir le reste du continent. Marquant déjà son entrée sur les marchés du Maghreb, particulièrement l’Algérie, la Libye, la Mauritanie, le Maroc et la Tunisie, elle s’y positionne comme la société la plus financée et la plus grande plateforme de commerce électronique B2B pour les détaillants et les fournisseurs.

 

Après sa campagne de financement en 2019, en juillet 2021, la jeune pousse lève à nouveau 40 millions de dollars et ne s’arrête pas là. Elle a acquis, pour un montant non connu du public, la plateforme de commerce électronique et de distribution B2B WaystoCap, basée au Maroc. L‘annonce de cette acquisition a été faite suite à la levée de 15 millions de dollars le 25 août 2021 auprès des investisseurs RMBV, IFC, Flourish Ventures, Crystal Stream Capital, Rise Capital, Endeavour Catalyst, Beco Capital et 4DX Ventures – portant le total de sa campagne de financement de série A à 55 millions de dollars.